Presenting new work by 12 London- and Hong Kong-based contemporary artists, we [ breathe ] in the space between is an expanded exhibition responding to issues of in-betweenness, modernity, and urbanity. Traversing multiple disciplines, it includes artists working across sculpture, audio/visual and digital installation, performance and product design.

we [ breathe ] in the space between is housed in a former police station in Rotherhithe, a South London docking area posed for major redevelopment as part of the Canada Water Masterplan. The space is currently occupied by Artists’ Studio Company, our hosts for this exhibition, who have custody of the building until its demolition. ASC studios is one of the largest affordable artist studio providers in the UK. The temporary nature of this site, and the uncomfortable position occupied by artists in the face of rapid gentrification, provide the loaded institutional context and impetus for this exhibition.

we [ breathe ] in the space between seeks to question our state of constant flux. What does it mean to occupy the present moment, when the present is always changing? What does it mean to be forced to the peripheries, to always inhabit the in-between space? How can we operate within this position? Can we act? Can we dance? Can we laugh? Can we rise? Can we shout? Can we breathe in the space between? 

1 – 17 November

Phase 1: Activate 1–3 November, 12–6pm
Varnishing (private view) 7 November, 6pm 
Phase 2: Pause 8–10 November, 12–6pm
Phase 3: Flux 15–17 November, 12–6pm

Please see ‘Schedule’ for full detail of events for each weekend. 

ASC MIR Project Space—Former Rotherhithe Police Station, 99 Lower Road, Rotherhithe, SE16 2XQ

Curatorial team: Rosa Abbott, Krishna Balakrishnan, Issy Casey, Kateřina Čuprová, Nina Lissone, Clara Wong, and Siyan Zhang

Graphic Design by Krishna Balakrishnan

This exhibition is curated and organized by students of Central Saint Martins’ MA Culture, Criticism, Curation in partnership with ASC Artists Studio Company (London) and HART Collective Ltd (Hong Kong) 


© 2019 creators of each work